I had my very first ever sewing class last week. The classes are being held in a basement in Tottenham court road, where I am being taught by a Korean seamstress; . There are two students: me and a Korean flower arranger; Minyoung. We have two hours a week at a bargain price of 10 per hour, and I am over the moon with excitement… simple pleasures. In our first class, we were introduced to our sewing machines. My machine is the Brother LS-2125, apparently this is a great machine for beginners. Minyoung is on a Singer, her machine looks far more modern and quite frankly much swankier then mine… mine looks more like the conservative older aunt of the Singer, but still, apparently its better. We each had to sew three patterns. In principle it was mean to be quite easy, just follow the lines, but it turns out following the line is much harder then I had ever expected. Still, just to underline the point, I still found the whole thing incredibly exciting! Next class we are working on different seams…

